My Best Story

The favorite story I’ve ever come up with is also the most fully detailed. It’s a fantasy epic with a plot that crosses three generations, and has a set of main characters, with their own character arcs. It has an original setting with a large back story. It’s by no means complete, and I’m constantly thinking of new things to add to the mix. I’ve got so much stuff that I’m almost afraid to share it, on the grounds that I might one day wish to sell it.

Fortunately, I’m no author, nor do I ever intend to be one. I think it’s fair to say that withholding details of my favorite, best story would be optimistic to the point of foolishness. So, I’m going to start posting bits and pieces of the story here. By “bits and pieces,” I mean I’ll present things like individual characters, plot arcs, backstories, or just rules about how magic works in my universe. I may also, from time to time, actually post complete chapters or short stories from this universe.

The post I shall post tomorrow is a short story/prologue. If I ever did write a book series, the first chapter would look like this. It seems to me that a lot of fantasy stories include a prologue chapter where strange things happen that will not be explained to the reader until later, or much later. The first chapter of Harry Potter is a good example; as Dumbledore and McGonagall deliver baby Harry to the Dursleys, we as readers have no idea whatsoever what they’re talking about, and won’t for a while yet.

I hate prologues like that. My prologue is like that.

My apology is that it’s from the point of view of a very young boy named Prince Romm, and that the intent of the work is that he also has no idea what’s going on. If he did, it wouldn’t have anywhere near as big an effect on him.

I have the prologue written up, but not proofread or edited. I’ll do that tomorrow, and post when I’m done. I will also note that I like to think I’m good at coming up with names, but Prince Romm may not be my best.

Leave a Comment

